September 30, 2008

Catching Up, Part One: Milky Way

Posted in Hello!Project, J-Pop, Kikkawa Yuu, Kusumi Koharu, Milky Way, Music, Sayaka Kitahara at 8:47 pm by aiwish472

After giving all my attention in the past few weeks to studying, the 2008 election, family visiting from out-of-town, more studying, and – okay, I’ll be honest – more old movie stuff, I’ve had some time to catch up on music. I found some mp3s of the tracks on Kirarin Revolution Song Selection 4 and Berryz Koubou’s new album, 5 (FIVE). I also checked out the new Morning Musume PV and song, and realized that Milky Way’s next single is only a month away from being released.

Since there’s so much I’ve missed, I’ll be splitting this entry up into multiple pieces. I’ll begin with one of my favorite groups…

So what’s up with Milky Way?

Let’s start with the costumes of their new single, “Tantataan!”

Whoever decided those outfits won, fire them.

Whoever decided those outfits won, fire them.

No. Fluffy marshmallows with clouds and bows =/= cool.

They look a bit better on the cover…

Yuu is normal; Koharu's on crack, like always; Sayaka says, "Don't fuck with me..."

^____^

While the costumes are a bit of a disappointment and the single cover stirs a variety of reactions, I’m impressed with the song. It’s a change of pace for a Kirarin Revolution group, singing a slow-tempo song instead of the typical hyper and upbeat tune. Koharu still sounds terrible, but is a tiny bit better. Sayaka needs work, but she’s nowhere near as bad as Koharu. To be frank, she’s really not that bad: oddly enough, I like her voice. Yuu outshines both of them, though. The more I hear her, the more I wish she was chosen instead of Aika. Oh well. Shikata ga nai, as the Japanese say.

That said, Kikka’s versions of “Anataboshi” and “Sansan GOGO” are definitely the best. That goes without saying. She has the most pleasant voice and is certainly talented.

I also enjoy Saaya’s versions, even if they aren’t fantastic. What can I say…Saaya is one of my favorite H!P members, and my favorite egg. Ever. But like I said earlier, she needs more vocal training. Of course, Sayaka is still fairly new to singing after doing backup for three or four years. I think her level of singing ability is understandable, and she has time to improve.

(Oh, and just for the record, I didn’t bother to listen to Kusumi’s solo versions nor the other songs on Kirarin Revolution Song Selection 4. 😉 )

Up next: Reactions to Berryz Koubou’s new album and the new Morning Musume PV.

Leave a comment