October 6, 2008

Catching Up, Part Two: Wonderful Hearts

Posted in Berryz Koubou, Hello!Project, Hello!Project Kids, Morning Musume, Music at 5:49 am by aiwish472

Morning Musume did something retro. But it wasn’t the good kind of retro.

Instead of doing something 40s, or even 50s – which would have been totally bitchin’ – they did something 70s – which wasn’t really a thrill for me. I’m not exactly a fan of the 70s.

I was secretly hoping that Morning Musume would release a 40s-themed song. The last time they did that, all the way back in 2001, it turned out to be one of their best songs yet. If not that, they could have worn shirtwaist dresses or pencil skirts with cardigan sweaters on the cover of their next album. Wouldn’t that be adorable?

But no – instead, Morning Musume wore psuedo-disco dresses and sang Pink Lady’s song from the 1970s – Pepper Keibu.

Pepper Keibu is okay, but nothing more. The song is catchy, but I know it will get old after a few listens – it’s really repetitive…

The outifts suck, the PV sucks, but what can I ask for?  A Hello!Project outfit isn’t a Hello!Project outfit unless it’s strange/fluffy/ugly or in this case, shiny. Morning Musume hasn’t released a decent PV in years, so I’ve given up on that one.

And…their next album will be entirely cover songs. Didn’t W do that for their first album in 2004? Why, yes, they did. W is great, fine. But I don’t like it when every song on an album is cover songs. Maybe if they had a few really good ones, it would be okay. But I like to hear new songs as well, and I’m sure you do too.

On Berryz’ new album, I like Happy! Stand Up and Baka ni Shinaide, and…that’s it. I would like Real Love too, if it wasn’t a Risako solo. I think Real Love should have been a Maasa solo, since MAASA ONLY GOT TO PARTICIPATE IN ONE GROUP SONG AND NEEDS MORE LOVE.

Oh! I secretly like Yuke Yuke Monkey Dance, but only when I’m making graphics. I listen to all the crazy songs when I make graphics. 😛

Other than those few songs, I consider 5 (FIVE) to be rather mediocre. The fourth album was so much better.

I hope that Berryz and Morning Musume’s future releases will be something to look forward to, unlike these.

Leave a Reply

