July 7, 2008

Scorning… Monkeys

Posted in AKB48, Berryz Koubou, Hello!Project, Music at 11:57 pm by aiwish472

From the first time I heard the radio rip, I knew the new Berryz song, “Yuke Yuke Monkey Dance,” would be bad. But my curiosity got the best of me, so when the PV came out, I had to watch it. I was pleasantly surprised to see and hear more Maasa, Chinami, and Saki (yet there’s still much more Risako than necessary, and not enough Yurina). Despite that, I don’t like the song or video.

“Yuke Yuke” is the most repetitive song I’ve heard from the Berryz. It’s the same verse and chorus over and over, until the bridge, which just comes out of nowhere. It’s a good song, really, if you want to annoy someone. The costumes are bad. They could be worse. Their fluffy skirts, long-sleeved shirts, black vests, and hats are so-so. And then there are the monkey costumes. Those officially ruined the video and song. The bodysuits with ears monkey costumes are a failed attempt to be cute; I don’t like them at all.

It’s not exactly “typical idol.” But it’s close.

Thankfully, there are those rare songs that aren’t typical idol.

I couldn’t resist. The magical transition picture amuses me.

Anyways. We’re going to take a short trip down memory lane to April 2007. On April 18, 2007, AKB48 released their fifth single, entitled “Keibetsu Shiteita Aijou.” It sold about 4,000 more copies in its first week than their last single, “Seifuku ga Jama wo Suru.”

“Seifuku ga Jama wo Suru” and “Keibetsu Shiteita Aijou” are the most un-idol-like songs a Japanese idol group could release, one dealing with underage prostitution and the other focusing on bullying and suicide. Those are touchy, sad subjects that we would never see from Hello! Project. Frankly, I don’t think anyone expected it from AKB48 either, despite the Skirt, Hirari’d mania. Although the subject matter isn’t pleasant, I still like those songs because of it. I’m glad that AKB48 went beyond typical idol music; that they stopped the happy music and took a stand against things that really matter. Seriously, those songs break every idol rule out there. They have a dark PV, dark lyrics, and the overall sound of the song is dark.

Okay, so the profits of the singles didn’t go to help teenage prostitutes or depressed individuals, but they are raising awareness of these problems. Not every artist does that. Sure, Ecomoni is pro-environment, but the topics of “Seifuku” and “Keibetsu” are big problems in Japan (as well as other parts of the world). Of course, the melody and vocals of the songs are good too.

I think it’s important that people in the entertainment industry do something other than sing, dance, or act cheerily. [I’m looking at you, idols.] It humanizes them. It just doesn’t seem healthy to behave the way the members of Berryz do. We’re human beings, and aren’t supposed to be happy 365 days a year. Emotions happen. Idol, schmidol. They aren’t actors. It’s sad that they can’t show feelings of their own.

3 Comments »

  1. Kar said,

    I love AKB48. ❤

    Seriously, what’s up with that monkey costume in Yuke Yuke? I’m not sure if they’re meant to look like either the Teletubbies or a cross-bred kangaroo and koala.

  2. Elinaaaaa~ said,

    XD XD XD
    I like Yuke Yuke Monkey song~!! XP
    But not that much that I would buy it or put it to my iPod. XP

  3. Rad said,

    I’m still trying to figure this one out. Further, I just saw some posted videos from the April “Battle Concert” and I would have to declare C-ute the runaway winner over Berryz (if indeed a real judging were to take place). Then I get C-ute’s “Love Escalation” DVD today and, although the new singles and the C-ute album aren’t all that hot, they shine in the face of “Monkey Dance.” Sheesh, I thought the days of Minimoni were over. Hmm. At least “Khan” was a solid hit for Berryz; otherwise, I would begin to wonder.

    http://www.bloggerparty.com.blog/radreview
    http://www.bloggerparty.com/blog/yankeeotaku


Leave a Reply

