May 28, 2008

音楽♪青春

Posted in Aya Matsuura, Hello!Project, J-Pop, Maki Goto, Morning Musume, Music at 2:07 pm by aiwish472

After reading the “My Journey” series at Renai Project (which was very well written, might I add 😉 ), I decided that I would like to write of my own “Journey”.

Morning Musume and Hello!Project…means a lot to me. Not only is it my favorite music, it’s a source of happiness, it’s something to cheer me up, and it’s an obsession. Go ahead, call me wota. XD

How did I get to this point? What did I love before Morning Musume?

It all started when I was little…

When I was young, and I mean really young, I was still interested in music. My first memories of music go back to when I was, hmm, five? I can remember turning on the radio. It was oldies music playing from the 1950s, ’60s, and early ’70s. I had set up my stuffed animals on the floor in my room and sat down in a little rocking chair and sang to them, as my kindergarten teacher did to me and my classmates.

I listened to a lot of music from that genre. The oldies sation was the first radio station I listened to, and the only music I liked for a while. Then when I was eight, I discovered Radio Disney. (Oh no!)

Of course, this was pre-Hannah Montana and pre-High School Musical, so Disney music wasn’t too corrupt. Yet. A lot of kids that I knew liked it. I bought some CDs that were promoted off that station. Kiddie artists, like…*checks old CDs* Hilary Duff or Jump 5. But kids get older, and when they started liking the less childlike, more mainstream American music, I did too. When I was 10 or so, there was a rap/R&B station that I listened to for a while. My Dad told me I wasn’t allowed to listen to it anymore because the lyrics were not appropriate. At the time I was upset (but now I thank him for saying that). So I searched around and found another mainstream American music station. It played some rap, but also pop and rock. It turned out to be more widely listened to than the other station.

I consider 6th grade, when I was 11, to be my best school year so far. It came after a terrible 5th grade year. I switched schools and made a great group of friends. I was obsessed with the Sims 2, but they let that go. We could talk about music together, and my iPod (which was my first iPod, a green mini) was the most loved out of all of ours.

In the summer before 7th grade, all of my music interests began to change. I was looking for music to download and came across a Japanese Shibuya-Kei group from the 1990s called Pizzicato Five. Oh, I loved them so. It started as just another group I listened to along with the American music, but with a rising intrest in Asian music and a declining interest in Western music (I like very, very little American music now), Shibuya-Kei became my favorite genre in just a matter of weeks. “P5” and Kahimi Karie, another Shibuya-Kei singer, were my most played artists in no time. My friends from 6th grade, who aren’t my friends anymore after a certain something happened, thought this was really weird. I got the same comments you probably have. “It’s not in English! Can you understand that? Why do you listen to this?”

I just ignored them and went back to my happy world.

Anyways, I get bored of certain things easily. Having no new Shibuya-Kei to listen to made Aiwish SAD.

To YouTube!

I went to YouTube one day and in the search engine, I searched for “J-Pop.” The first videos I saw were Aya Matsuura’s “Ne~e?” PV and GAM’s “Thanks!” PV. What do you know, two Hello!Project songs. Of course, I had no idea that it was H!P at the time. I didn’t even know what H!P was. I downloaded the songs, along with some other J-Pop that I found on a website earlier. m-flo, melody., and Ayumi Hamasaki were other J-Pop artists I discovered.

So basically, after that, I read about Aya which took me to GAM and I was oh-so-shocked that Aya Matsuura was in not one, but both videos I’d seen earlier! GAM led to Miki which led me to Morning Musume which led me to Maki Goto and W and I finally realized that they were all in “Hello!Project.” I also continued to discover more non-H!P, J-Pop artists and songs.

The interest in Asian music, especially Japanese, led to a love for all things Asian. Yes, especially Japanese. I can’t really think of anything that’s Japanese that I know of and don’t like, except anime and manga.

As for today?

My favorite Hello!Project members are Sayaka Kitahara, Hitomi Yoshizawa, Ogawa Makoto, Maki Goto, Yurina Kumai, Risa Niigaki, and Anri Tanaka, but not in that order.

My favorite group ever is Morning Musume, and that’s not going to change anytime soon. My favorite soloist will always be Maki Goto. However, my second-favorite group changes a lot, and at the moment it’s early Tanpopo.

In addition to Asian music, I also like computers (the tech stuff, as well as graphic design), writing, and old movies, especially from the 1940s. My favorite movie genre is film noir, but I like other non-noir movies as well.

Although those things mean a lot to me, Japan is my #1 interest, and I doubt that that will change anytime soon.

Hello!Project’s music means a lot to me. For instance, “Koi no Dance Site” makes me happy anytime. Maki Goto’s song from Paint It Gold, “Namida no Hoshi,” helped me when I was going through a hard time. Aya Matsuura’s “Egao” gives me hope.

I’m glad that I like Hello!Project. ♥

2 Comments »

  1. Andra said,

    It was interesting to read! That bit of you singing to your stuffed animals is so cute. 🙂

    “Namida no Hoshi” is such a beautiful song… I almost start crying every time I hear it. Especially after watching Gocchin’s last concert tour on the DVD of which she’s moved to tears herself when singing it…

  2. aiwish472 said,

    @Andra: Thank you! ^^
    Namida no Hoshi certainly is beautiful, especially in that performance you mentioned. It’s so heartfelt and makes me want to cry too. ❤


Leave a Reply

